- Declaration and forfeiture
In the sport of cricket a declaration occurs when a captain declares his team's innings closed and a forfeiture is when a captain chooses to forfeit an innings. Declaration and forfeiture are covered in Law 14 of the Laws of cricket. This concept applies only to matches in which each team is scheduled to bat in two innings; Law 14 specifically does not apply in any form of limited overs cricket.
The captain of the batting side may declare an innings closed, when the ball is dead, at any time during a match. Usually this is because the captain thinks his team has already scored enough runs to win the match, though tactical declarations are sometimes used in other circumstances.
A captain considering declaration must balance the risks of declaring too early (thus setting too low a target for the opposing team) against those of declaring too late or not at all (thus causing a draw by leaving insufficient time to complete the match).
The first captain to declare was Charles Wright in 1890. In a game against Kent at the Bat and Ball Ground in Gravesend, Wright declared Nottinghamshire's second innings closed on 157 for 5 to set Kent a target of 231 to win. However, the tactic did not come off as the game was drawn with Kent on 98 for 9 and Nottinghamshire requiring one more wicket to win.
Under the current Laws, a captain may forfeit either of his side's innings. A forfeited innings shall be considered as a completed innings. Usually this happens in shorter competitive two-innings matches, where captains need to agree with each other how to set up the match so that there is a reasonable chance of a result. Winning a game gains a team considerably more points than drawing it, so captains are often willing to risk giving the opposition an opportunity to win that they otherwise would not have had as long as they are getting a similar opportunity in return.
Only one innings has been voluntarily forfeited in Test cricket. This was on 18 January 2000 at Centurion, South Africa in the fifth and final Test between South Africa and England. South Africa had already won the series, as they were 2–0 up after the first four matches. After South Africa scored 155 for 6 on the first day, rain washed out the next three days. With only one day remaining, the match was set for a certain draw.
That was until Hansie Cronje, the South African captain, entered into a deal with his English counterpart, Nasser Hussain, that South Africa would continue batting till they reached about 250 and then declare. England and then South Africa would then both forfeit an innings, leaving England approximately 250 to win (in the event the target was 249). At that time, the laws only permitted a side to forfeit its second innings, so England's first innings was treated as having been declared at 0 for 0 after 0 balls. England went on to score 251 for 8 and win by 2 wickets. Many of the South African team criticized Cronje at the time for setting too low a target.
It later emerged that Cronje had been approached by a bookmaker, and asked to ensure the game would end with a positive result. Nasser Hussain and the England team were not aware of this at the time, taking the South African request at face value.
The fourth test of the 2006 series between Pakistan and England was declared forfeited by Pakistan after they refused to take to the field as a protest of allegation of ball tampering. The umpires awarded the match to England. The match was involuntarily forfeited under Law 21 rather than being voluntarily forfeited under Law 14.
- Standard One Day International Match Playing Conditions
- Standard Twenty20 International Match Playing Conditions
- ^ a b Law 14 of the Laws of Cricket
- ^ Scorecard of the game in which Wright became the first captain to declare an innings closed
- ^ MCC (1980). "Law 14 – Declarations". Laws of Cricket 1980 Code. Cricinfo. http://static.espncricinfo.com/db/ABOUT_CRICKET/LAWS/1980_CODE/LAW_14_DECLARATIONS.html. Retrieved 2011-02-20.
- ^ Scorecard of 2000 RSA vs ENG Centurion Match in which Cronje & Hussein forfeited innings
- ^ Stone, Simon (16 June 2000). "Cronje admits $100,000 in bribes". The Independent (London). http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/cricket/cronje-admits-100000-in-bribes-713286.html. Retrieved 22 March 2010.
Wikimedia Foundation. 2010.